travel: my love affair with new york city {october 2011}

All images by Liz Dikinson.

I’ve always had an unexplainable love for New York City. Even before my first visit  in 2009, I took to learning the layout — the names of the five boroughs, where they were on the map, the monster that is Manhattan and where all of the places I wanted to visit were located.

Since then, I’ve made 3 more trips – one in 2010, two in 2011, and I’m going back in roughly a month’s time to celebrate me & my boyfriend’s birthdays. I can’t get enough.

I took to taking some special landmark pictures on my last trip. Yeah, these have been photographed over and over, I know, but it makes me excited to see them through my own lens. This is how I see the city that stole my heart.

Liz

About Liz Dikinson

Lifestyle and photojournalism photographer in the Miami area. Specializing in wedding + engagement photography.

6 comments

  1. I just discovered your blog– it’s nice to read about NYC from a huge fan. I’ve been to NYC twice, just recently this last summer, and I enjoy it but at the same time it stresses me out and I find its chaotic aliveness just overwhelming. I guess I’m meant for a quieter, calmer place, but I really love seeing the city through your eyes. Great post.

  2. Thanks! I totally understand – although what I love most about New York is the hustle and bustle, I too can appreciate quiet moments. If I find a way to find them in the City That Never Sleeps, I’ll pass it along.
    ;)

  3. Liz,
    I really enjoyed the shots you took! For someone who appreciates the city as much as I do, I think you did a great job capturing some of the magic in that city! I hope to see more soon!

Leave a comment